Tyrone Vs Monaghan – 2012 Ulster GAA Minor Championship Final

Tyrone minors lifted the Ulster Championship title for the 22nd time on Sunday after a hard fought win over neighbours Monaghan. It was a toss up for me whether to go to this game or Saturday’s All-Ireland senior qualifier against Kerry in Killarney but I think I made the right choice after Kerry’s comprehensive victory.

People were predicting a comfortable Tyrone victory for the minors but that never looked like happening as Monaghan attacked with speed and often had the Tyrone defence rattled, especially in the first half when Tyrone conceded their first goal of the Championship. However, scores in the opening 30 minutes from Anthony Devlin, Kieran Mc Geary, Sean Hackett and Peter Mc Kenna meant they went in a point up at half time.

Monaghan played with a strong breeze in the second half and took the lead 3 minutes after the break, my cousin Ryan Mc Anespie getting one of the scores with a superb shot from distance This was to be the last time Monaghan held the lead though as the Farney players began to tire and Tyrone forwards Mark Bradley and James Mc Gahan stepped up another gear to score 4 points between them. It may have been a very different outcome in the dying minutes of the game with only 3 points separating the sides when Monaghan fired in two aerial balls into the Tyrone square but both were confidently caught by captain Padraig Hampsey and kicked to safety. Full time score; Tyrone 0-14 Monaghan 1-08.

This was another great victory for Tyrone minors in another tough encounter for the players and management. They now move onto play Meath in a couple of weeks… hopefully they can repeat the success of the 2010 All-Ireland minor winning team!

August is sure to be a busy month for me too as the Tyrone club championship starts this week and I hope to be covering as many games as possible.

Below are a mixture of action and celebration photos from the game….

A general view of St Tiernach’s Park, Clones and the Liam Murray Cup and the Anglo Celt Cup before Sunday’s game.


The Monaghan minor team pose for the press.


The Tyrone minor team pictured before the game.



James Mc Gahan narrowly misses collecting the ball in the air.


Peter Mc Kenna in action in the air for Tyrone.




Kieran Mc Geary shoots for a point in the first half.


Anthony Devlin reaches for the ball for Tyrone.


…. and again!


Kieran Mc Geary holds off his marker.


Caolan Harvey approaches the Monaghan goals from the wing.






Anthony Devlin powers past Ryan Mc Anespie


… but is pulled down by Ryan Wylie.


Tempers flare at the sideline before half time.


Caolan Corr chases Monaghan’s Padraic Keenan.




Conor Mc Carthy gains space over Tyrone’s Ciaran Mc Laughlin.






Sean Molloy clears a dangerous ball in the Tyrone square.


Full back Padraig Hampsey collects a dangerous high ball in the dying minutes of the game.


Manager Mickey Donnelly issues a few last minute instructions.


Relief at the final whistle for Mickey Donnelly and assistant manager Kieran Mc Hugh.










Aghaloo’s Shane Mc Gee and Ruairi Mc Glone celebrate.


Kieran Mc Geary is presented with the man of the match award.


Tyrone minor captain Padraig Hampsey delivers his victory speech.


Padraig Hampsey lifts the Liam Murray Cup.


Tyrone minors pose for the team celebration photo.


It was minor title number 4 for Gerard!


Tyrone assistant manager Kieran Mc Hugh gets a soaking from the players.




Aghaloo clubmates Shane Mc Gee and Ruairi Mc Glone celebrate with the minor title.


Gael Naomh Padraig club mates Darragh Kavanagh and Sean Hackett with the cup.




The entire Tyrone minor panel, management, backroom team and mentors celebrate with the cup.


Mickey Donnelly returns to a round of applause in the changing rooms.


Chaos in the Tyrone minor changing rooms after the game!


Ciaran Mc Laughlin and Michael Cassidy celebrate.


More of the Tyrone backroom staff pose with the Liam Murray Cup.


The 3 Aghaloo musketeers pose for a photo…. player Ruairi Mc Glone, manager Mickey Donnelly and backroom team official Shane Mc Gee.



This entry was posted in Tyrone. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>