Galbally Vs Gortin – 2012 Tyrone GAA Intermediate Championship, Quarter Final

The final 2012 Tyrone Intermediate Championship quarter final between Gortin and Galbally ended in a draw on Friday night on a scoreline of 0-09 apiece.

The game could have went either way and a draw was probably a fair result….. Galbally went in with a one point lead at HT only for Gortin to overturn it and in the 28th minute of the game, they led 0-08 to 0-07 and looked certain to be progressing to the semi-finals. Ronan Hagan looked to have won the game in injury time with a fisted point for Galbally but Kevin Mossey scored an excellent point for Gortin in the dying minutes to level the game.

The two teams will meet each other in the next few days but Galbally are very likely be without the services of key players Paul Rafferty and Mickey Murphy after both players limped off the field on Friday night with injuries.

Galbally Pearses senior team.


Gortin GFC senior team.


Diarmuid Mc Nulty rattled the Galbally crossbar in the opening minutes with this shot.





Kevin Mossey is chased by a number of Galbally players.


Martin Branigan drives out of the Galbally defence.


Daniel Wards embraces a challenge from Galbally’s Mickey Murphy.


Gortin had the opportunity to score at least 3 goals on Friday night but were denied by a number of fine saves from Galbally goalkeeper Philip Maguire.


Diarmuid Mc Nulty scores a point for Gortin.


Paddy Northern plays the ball forward.




Fergal Mc Garrity keeps Brian Mc Garvey at arm’s length.




Gortin goalkeeper Cathal Mc Cullagh is put under pressure by the Galbally team.


Shane Clarke, Gortin GFC






This entry was posted in Club Football, Galbally, Gortin. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>