Fermanagh Vs Tyrone

Just 4 days after Tyrone defeated Fermanagh in the 3rd round of the Power N.I. Dr. Mc Kenna Cup in Omagh, the two sides met again except this time there was the opportunity for the winning side to reach the Dr. Mc Kenna Cup final next weekend. Mickey Harte reintroduced a lot of the younger players into the starting fifteen compared to Wednesday night’s tie presumably thinking ahead of his squad selection for the National League games in February.

It was a quiet opening to the game with neither side registering a score until the 11th minute when Fermanagh took the lead with a Sean Quigley point. Soon after Fermanagh further added to their lead with a Seamus Quigley fisted goal… the 8,600 strong crowd waited patiently for Tyrone to turn up but they failed to find their rhythm in the first half and deservedly went in 1-02 to 0-03 down at H.T.

The second half however saw the more familiar Tyrone side come out that we are all used to seeing – fast movement around the ball, the attackers running at the defence and better quality shooting in front of the posts. As well as that, changes on the bench such as the introduction of Martin Penrose, Stevie O’Neill, Joe Mc Mahon and Sean O’Neill all solidified the strength of Tyrone and Fermanagh could no longer compete against it. Mugsy pulled off another wonder-goal thanks to his trademark dummy…. Kyle Coney, Ronan O’Neill, Mark Donnelly, Mickey Murphy and Stevie O’Neill all scored fine points too and Omagh’s Ronan O’Neill concluded the game with another fine goal – his second ever Tyrone senior goal in three games. Full time score; Tyrone 2-12 Fermanagh 1-03.

Tyrone will now face Derry in the Dr Mc Kenna Cup next Saturday night in the Athletic Grounds, Armagh in a repeat of last year’s final… hopefully this time the result will go in our favour.

Tyrone have started with a different captain for each of the Dr. Mc Kenna cup games this year so far and it was Owen Mulligan's turn to lead the team out on Sunday.


Mickey watches the players warm up at the Athletic Grounds.



Cathal Mc Carron is tackled by Darryl Keenan.


Pascal Mc Connell saves Sean Quigley's low shot.


Dromore's Cathal Mc Carron evades the attentions of Fermanagh's Darryl Kennan again.


Ronan O'Neill solos the ball at full stretch.


Colm Cavanagh is pulled back by Conor Quigley.


Martin Penrose's introduction late in the first half swung the odds in favour of Tyrone.


Marty Penrose fills the gap in the Fermanagh defence.


Owen Mulligan celebrates another 'Mugsy special' with team mate Stephen O'Neill.


Ronan O'Neill strikes for a point in the second half for Tyrone.


Michael Murphy made an immediate impact when he came onto the field for the last five minutes of the game scoring 2 points.


Joe Mc Mahon is fouled on the ball and even loses his boot in the process!!! But referee Joe Mc Quillan didn't award him a free kick.


Stephen O'Neill lays the ball off to Ronan O'Neill...


... who shoots and scores...


... and celebrates his goal to end the game as a contest.


Colm Cavanagh has put in some excellent performances for Tyrone in 2012. Here he is pictured after the final whistle in the team huddle.


Here is a moment that brought a smile to my face right before I headed home... a young Armagh local approached Mugsy during his stretches after the game and asked for his autograph. As neither of them had a pen, Mugsy very kindly gave him his O'Neill's gloves much to the delight of the boy and the envy of his friends .... I always knew Armagh supporters had a soft spot for Mugsy!


One of the stars of the night was Omagh St Enda's player Ronan O'Neill - here the 19 year old takes the post-match interviews from journalists in his stride.


This entry was posted in Tyrone. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>