Errigal Ciaran Vs Mullahoran – 2012 Ulster GAA Senior Championship, Round One

Breffni Park, Cavan was the venue for Sunday’s first round match of the 2012 Ulster Senior football Championship between Tyrone champions Errigal Ciaran and Cavan champions Mullahoran.

Throughout the whole game, Errigal were the stronger and better of the two teams and in the opening minutes Damien Mc Dermott fired home their first goal. Fergal Brady scored a brilliant goal mid-way through the half for Mullahoran to reduce the scoreline 1-04 to 1-02 but that was the closest the Cavan side got as a brilliant attack started by Peter Harte in midfield was finished by him when he netted  a second goal for Errigal Ciaran.

Meanwhile match referee Padraig Hughes was kept busy as he ran lengths of the field speaking to his umpires and dishing out yellow cards in the process for off the ball incidents to players of both sides. One of these incidents resulted in the sending off of World GAA Handball champion Paul Brady only minutes after he came on allowing Errigal to go in at HT with a comfortable 2-06 to 1-03 lead.

The second half of the game was a virtual non-contest as Errigal carried on their first half superiority with scores coming from Davy Harte, Enda Mc Ginley, Thomas and Darren Canavan, a well worked goal from Bru Horisk and then a final goal from Thomas Canavan in the dying minutes of the game.

Full time score; Errigal Ciaran 4-15 Mullahoran 1-07

Errigal Ciaran will now meet Derry senior champions Ballinderry in 2 weeks time in the quarter finals, it is sure to be a sterner test for the Tyrone side and they will be hoping they can get one step further than Dromore did last year when they bowed out to the Shamrocks at the same stage. I wish Errigal the best of luck for it.

Below are my photos from the game.

Errigal Ciaran line out in Breffni Park, Cavan.


Match referee Pauric Hughes tosses the coin between the team captains.


It was a sunny clear day in Breffni Park, Cavan for Sunday’s first round Ulster clash.


Ronan Mc Guckin joins his Errigal Ciaran players in the national anthem.



Davy Harte drives out of the Errigal Ciaran defence.


Cormac Mc Ginley in action for Errigal Ciaran.


Damien Mc Dermott slams home Errigal’s first goal.


Aidan Mc Crory moves away from Raymond Lynch’s tackle.




Enda Mc Ginley takes a tumble on the ground.


Mullahoran’s Raymond Lynch creates an attack.


Fergal Brady scores a first half goal for Mullahoran.


Midfield action from Breffni Park, Cavan.


Enda Mc Ginley cleans up in midfield.




Armagh referee Padraig Hughes books Errigal Ciaran’s Michael Mc Rory.




Mullahoran’s Paul Brady is sent off before half time.


A high foot from Mullahoran’s Fergal Brady on Peter Harte.


Speculation has been mounting today whether Ballinderry native and Errigal Ciaran manager Ronan Mc Guckin will be managing his side when the two clubs meet in the quarter finals on 4 November.




Tempers flare in the Mullahoran camp as they refuse to let the Errigal Ciaran players regroup before they walk off the field at half time.


John Devine runs out of the tunnel for the start of the second half.


Captain Enda Mc Ginley knocks over a point for Errigal Ciaran.




Stefan Tierney attacks in the second half.




Ronan Mc Rory looks for options.


Thomas Canavan hits another Errigal Ciaran point.




Peter Harte’s pass finds Brian Horisk.


Bru Horisk finishes the move by palming the ball into the net.


Brian Horisk takes the tackle in his stride.


Darren Canavan scores for Errigal Ciaran.


Paul Quinn plays the ball forward with his left foot.


Ronan Mc Rory scored this excellent point from a tight angle.


Shane Hackett leaps into the air for Errigal Ciaran.








The Errigal Ciaran players leave Breffni Park following their 14 point win over Mullahoran.



This entry was posted in Club Football, Errigal Ciaran. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>