Category Archives: Aghyaran

Galbally Vs Aghyaran – 2012 Tyrone GAA Intermediate Championship

Galbally Pearses took on Aghyaran on Saturday evening in Loughmacrory in the first round of the Power NI Tyrone Intermediate Championship.

A very strong breeze blew down Loughmacrory field all evening and it was with this breeze that Galbally played with in the first half, scoring 9 points compared to Aghyaran’s 2 points who on the contrary were finding shooting between the posts very difficult. Strong performances came in the first half from Galbally’s Blaine Nugent, Paul Rafferty, Christopher Morris, Mickey Murphy and Ryan Hagan.

The real test for Galbally though would be the second half when they were playing into the breeze and thanks to the solid back line, lead by Terry Donnelly, they dealt very well with the constant high aerial balls Aghyaran launched in from 50 metres out. Ronan Mc Namee scored a couple of frees for Aghyaran and in the dying seconds of injury time, Michael Anderson broke the Galbally defence with a well taken goal but it was too late as the ref blew the whistle on a scoreline of….. Galbally 0-12 Aghyaran 1-06.

The Aghyaran senior team line out in Loughmacrory.


The Galbally Pearses senior team line out.


Aidan O’Hagan pushes forward for Galbally.


Continue reading »

Also posted in Club Football, Galbally | Leave a comment