Aghaloo Vs Tattyreagh

My home club of Aghaloo took on the black and red of Tattyreagh in the Preliminary Round of the Tyrone Junior Championship tonight in Galbally.

Aghaloo were missing some key players for the game (ace corner forward Brian Mc Kenna and midfielder Leslie Stevenson to name two) and as everyone knows, anything can happen in Championship football so previous meetings between these two teams really meant very little.

Right from the throw in, Tattyreagh gave a fighting performance and on the contrast things just didn’t going Aghaloo’s way with numerous chances to score goals in the first half, including a missed penalty opportunity, going astray.

Kevy O'Gorman misses a goal opportunity for Aghaloo.

The Tattyreagh goalkeeper saves Sean Douglas' penalty kick.

In the second half, it was more of the same as Tattyreagh had a 6 point lead at one stage despite playing with 14 men.  A shock Championship exit were on the cards for Aghaloo.

Tattyreagh further increased their lead with a second half goal.

Paul Mc Cormack in action for Aghaloo.


The Aghaloo management change tactics from the sideline.

However the turnaround came in the last 5 minutes as Gerard Mc Caughey netted a goal for Aghaloo followed by points by Stephen Donnelly and Kevy O’Gorman giving them a very narrow 2 point victory.

It was very much a case of ‘The Great Escape’ for Aghaloo but fair play to the boys who never dropped their heads.

Aghaloo cool down after the game. It was very dark by this stage (9.30pm) so I had to increase the ISO on my camera up to 2500 to ensure a bright and reasonably sharp picture.

This entry was posted in Aghaloo, Club Football, Tattyreagh. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>