Aghaloo Vs Killyman – 2012 Tyrone Junior Football Championship

Aghaloo took on Killyman in the first round of the 2012 Power NI Tyrone Junior Championship in Eglish on Friday evening. Both these teams were evenly matched on paper and a landslide victory from either side was never on the cards.

Aghaloo found the back of the net early into the game when Stephen Donnelly was left unmarked allowing him to take the ball around the goalkeeper to put them 2 points ahead. Killyman struck back with points from Enda Mc Gahan and Caolan Morgan but Aghaloo had the chance to go in with a 3 point lead at the break if they had converted a penalty on the stroke of half time; Aghaloo 1-02 Killyman 0-05.

The Blackwater boys played the better football in the second half but often failed to convert this into scores. However points from Tiernan Donnelly and Gerard Mc Caughey were enough to see them progress to the next round with a 2 point margin. Full time score; Aghaloo 1-07 Killyman 0-08.

The Aghaloo O’Neill’s senior team line out before Friday evening’s game.


The Killyman senior football team line out in Eglish.


Gerard Mc Caughey strikes for a point for Aghaloo.


Ruairi Mc Glone collects the loose ball for Aghaloo.


Brian Mc Kenna advances up the field.


Stephen Donnelly scores Aghaloo’s only goal of the game




Brendan Halligan shoots for a point.




Ruairi Mc Glone is brought down in the square by the Killyman defence.


Gerard Mc Caughey collects the ball in the air.


Killyman’s Paul Mc Veigh evades a challenge from Ruairi Mc Glone.




Shea Loughran looks for options for Aghaloo.


Mark Mc Cormack pulls back Killyman’s Michael Donnelly.


Michael Donnelly squeezes his shot past Mark Mc Cormack and John O’Neill.


Aghaloo’s Gerard Daly goes to ground after being challenged.




This entry was posted in Aghaloo, Club Football, Killyman. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>